Love Yourself

1442017775655
Hello everyone!
            I want to talk about a topic that means a lot to me personally. I want to talk about loving yourself in terms of body image.
Okay, let me start by saying that I have an extremely strong dislike for society today and the effect it has on this generation. This generation is so obsessed with the idea of being perfect and looking a certain way and that’s because of the ideas that society places in our heads. Society tells us that we need to look and behave a certain way in order to be accepted and that honestly makes no sense to me because at the same time they want us to be individuals. Everyone girl has to be able to fit a size 0 and all guys have to have abs, it’s odd. As a result, you have young girls doing anything they can to try and fit societies needs which ultimately leads to them being extremely unhealthy. The fact of the matter is, that specific body type doesn’t fit and isn’t healthy for everyone. Yeah, some people may be made to be slimmer but others are meant to be thicker and there’s absolutely nothing wrong with that.
If you’re happy then in all honesty, that’s all that really matters. If there are little things that you want to change, then by all means do what you want but don’t try to fit yourself to society’s standards if it isn’t for you. No one knows you better than you and no one can love you better than you can and I want you all to remember that.
Now, I’ve had my fair share of being told that I should be slimmer, and it used to get me down a lot. I’d look at what I see on television and wonder why I don’t look like that and try to think of ways to change but then I realized that I actually love the way I am and I don’t want to be like that. At this moment in time, I love myself and I know that’s all that’s ever going to matter because there’ll only ever be a handful of people in life that’ll love you for you. By that I mean there’ll be a handful of people that’ll put themselves around you for everything past your physical appearance. So at the end of the day, remember that what society portrays may not be what’s best for you, only you can know that and the biggest thing that you can do is love yourself.
I think I’m going to leave it here but I hope at least one person took something from this. Thanks for reading!!
~Brittany NaShara

 

Leave a Reply

