The Benefits of Treating Yourself

Hello Everyone!

Life can be a bit hectic when you’re a college student with a part-time job. I spend a lot of time between those two places and to be quite honest, I just try to sleep whenever I get the chance. So the other day, I decided that I’d take some time to just worry about myself. It’s always nice to just take some time for yourself, even if it’s just for a little while. I grabbed two of my good friends and we walked around the city. I love going downtown because there’s always little shops around there that you may not catch any other day. This time, instead of finding those little shops, we just popped into the few stores that I really wanted to go to at the time.

So I pretty much dragged my friends around in these stores (and to be honest, they fell in love with one store so go me!). After a bit of shopping, we ended up at what has to be one of my favorite places in the city. I love little cafe’s and this one is just so adorable that I fell in love with it the first time I went.

We didn’t spend a lot of time out and about, after we left the cafe we just headed back to campus. Spending time out with people you get along with, or even if you’re out on your own, is just so nice. It allows you to take a step back and breathe for a while. I encourage everyone to take time for themselves.

Remember that focusing on too many things at once can bring on stress and no one really needs that in their life. Find a spot you like, that makes you feel calm, and go there every now and then. If you like shopping like I do, then go ahead and treat yourself every once in a while. 

It’s all about how you choose to spend the free time that you have. Make the most of it. Make memories and cherish them. Laugh about silly things. Don’t over think about some project for school. The little moments like these that you get in life are what makes everything worth it. These little moments when you can just forget the world and be free. It feels great, and if you don’t believe me then you’ll just have to go out and give it a try.

~Brittany NaShara

Leave a Reply

