The Story Behind My First Tattoo

 

I always knew that I wanted a tattoo. I’ve always found them interesting and I just love that for many people, religions, beliefs, etc., tattoos hold meanings. During high school, I spent a lot of time drawing all over my arms and doodling in my notebooks, eventually I figured that I’d want to turn one, or more, of them into actual tattoos. So I spent a good amount of time thinking about what I wanted my first tattoo to be. I wanted it to be special to me, something that kind of embodied who I am as a person. I wanted it to be something that I knew I would always believe in.  So on the day of my 20th birthday, I got the saying “faith, trust & pixie dust” tattooed on the back of my shoulder.

I’m pretty sure everyone knows where the saying comes from; it’s from the animated Disney movie Peter Pan. It’s said by Peter when asked by Wendy how exactly do they fly to Neverland. Now, Peter Pan is a movie that I watched a lot as a child (it’s up there in my favorites with A Goofy Movie, Alice in Wonderland, The Little Mermaid, and of course The Lion King). I think the concept of never growing up is what kept drawing me to it, and it’s something that has kind of stuck with me as I’ve grown in my life.

tattoo

See, when you fly with Peter Pan and Tinkerbell past Big Ben, to the second star to the right and straight on till morning, you end up in Neverland. You come to this wonderful place where you never have to grow up, and you see things that you could only imagine, and you have no worries but to just have fun. Who wouldn’t want to be in a place like that? All it would take is faith, trust, and a little bit of pixie dust then you’re living a new adventure everyday. It’s essentially a child’s dream and that’s what made me love that movie as a kid.

As I grew up and started accepting my responsibilities as a young adult, the meaning to that saying started to change for me. I knew that I had to grow up, I knew that I would eventually become an adult and be subjected to doing adult things in my life. The only thing is, I didn’t want to be a miserable adult. I didn’t want to become one of those adults that look and act like they’ve buried all the fun that they had as a child.

That’s what my tattoo represents. It isn’t just my favorite quote from my favorite Disney movie. It’s my favorite quote from my favorite Disney movie that I still carry with me today. I’m in my early twenties and I’m grasping the concept of adulthood, and it’s very overwhelming. It’s times like this that I never want to lose that same imagination I had as a child, the imagination that helped bring my favorite movies to life for me. Imagination is what fuels creativity and I’m all for embracing the creativity in people. If I lose the belief in my imagination, I lose that carefree and creative side of myself.

Faith, trust, and pixie dust are the three things I need in my life. I need to have faith in myself in whatever I decide to do. I need to trust that I’m sure about what I’m doing and what I want to do. Finally, I need the pixie dust (imagination) to keep myself carefree and creative.

That’s the story behind my first (and only) tattoo. There are others that I want and reasons why I want them, but for now I’m happy with the one I have and why I have it. Do you have any tattoos with special meanings?

~Brittany NaShara

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

