New Tattoo

I’ve always heard that once you get one tattoo, you start to want more and more after that. I found that true 3 years ago when I got my first one. Here I am now, with a brand new tattoo for all to see and I’m so in love with it. This was all pretty spontaneous, I heard of a shop doing $20 tattoos to help raise money and I thought ‘why not?’. My friend went with me and then boom! we were tatted.

You see so many people with the Deathly Hallows symbol tattooed on them somewhere and I’m well aware of that. I’ve been thinking about getting this specific tattoo on me ever since I finished the book years ago.

The Deathly Hallows symbol pretty much embodies all things Harry Potter and that story has had such an impact on my life. I started reading the books when I was in the fifth grade and then it sort of became an obsession. It was so much of an obsession that my dad would take me to the midnight showings when each movie came out. My grandparents would go out and get me all of the books when they came out. In fact, one of my most vivid memories is when my grandparents surprised me with Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix on my  10th birthday.

The stories of Harry, Ron, and Hermione had buried themselves into my person. It was these books that kind of shaped my love of fantasy. It opened my eyes to just how creative a mind could be, I mean J.K Rowling created an entire world with magic and creatures and everything and everyone had a backstory and I thought that was the most amazing thing. I still do think that way. There’s a whole world to explore beyond the pages that have been written based on all of the details described in these books and that fascinates me.

For me, everything is about being your truest, most creative self, and believing in your imagination that anything can happen. That’s pretty much the corresponding theme between my two current tattoos and any other tattoo that I plan to get.

Do you have tattoos? Do you want any?

~Brittany NaShara

Leave a Reply

